Regents Professor of Chemistry


Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, Regents Professor of Chemistry and associate dean for faculty affairs in the College of Science at Texas A&M University, has been recognized as a 2012 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Yennello, an internationally renowned nuclear chemist, University Faculty Fellow and member of Texas A&M's world-class Cyclotron Institute, is one of three Texas A&M faculty among the 702 AAAS members honored by their peers with the prestigious distinction this year for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. She joins Dr. Thomas Bianchi, James R. Whatley Chair in Geosciences and professor of oceanography, and Dr. Guoyao Wu, distinguished professor of animal science and a University as well as AgriLife Research Senior Faculty Fellow, as the university's most recent inductees.

This year's AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the "AAAS News & Notes" section of the Nov. 30 edition of the journal Science.

Yennello is cited by the AAAS "for contributions to understanding the equation of state of nuclear matter and leadership in enhancing the professional development of women in the physical sciences at all stages of their careers." Bianchi is honored "for fundamental contributions to our understanding of organic carbon cycling in coastal marine environments and for help in defining the field through his synthesis efforts," while Wu is recognized "for discovery of novel pathways of amino acid nutrition and metabolism affecting intestine, cardiovascular and reproductive tissues impacting health and development of animals and humans."

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association's 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members -- so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution -- or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

Yennello, Bianchi and Wu will be presented with official certificates and gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pins in a Saturday, February 16 ceremony at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2013 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass.

"The AAAS is very special as a scientific society that encompasses many areas of science and is not discipline-specific," Yennello. "I feel quite honored to be named to the ranks of their fellows."

Yennello joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1993 after serving as a postdoctoral fellow at Michigan State University (1991-92) and earning her Ph.D. from Indiana University in 1990. Her research on the nuclear equation-of-state impacts such fundamental questions as, "What is the origin of the elements?" and "How are neutron-rich and heavy nuclei synthesized in the core of a star during stellar evolution?" In addition, her pioneering example as an instructor, research scientist, administrator, and mentor to faculty and students -- particularly women and minorities -- is equally respected at Texas A&M and in national and international professional circles.

Yennello serves as principal investigator for four major National Science Foundation grants -- including Texas A&M's $3.5 million ADVANCE Center for Women Faculty established in October 2010 -- totaling more than $5.5 million in funding to benefit STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) education and outreach. In addition to being involved in career research projects exceeding $8.5 million, she is architect and co-chair of an NSF-funded Gender Equity Conversation effort and serves as the current chair of the College of Science Diversity Committee.

A fellow of both the American Chemical Society (2011) and American Physical Society (2005), Yennello's many awards include the ACS's Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal (2011), the Texas A&M Women's Faculty Network Outstanding Mentor Award (2010), the Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching at both the university and college levels (2012 and 2008, respectively), the Sigma Xi National Young Investigator Award (2000), the NSF Young Investigator Award (1994), the Oak Ridge Junior Faculty Enhancement Award (1993) and the General Electric Faculty for the Future Award (1993).

To learn more about Yennello and her research at Texas A&M, go to http://www.chem.tamu.edu/faculty/yennello.

For more on the American Association for the Advancement of Science, visit www.aaas.org.


About Research at Texas A&M University: As one of the world's premier research institutions, Texas A&M is a leader in making significant contributions to the storehouse of knowledge in many fields, including rigorous scientific and technological disciplines. Research conducted at Texas A&M represents an annual investment of more than $700 million; the university ranks 20th among all U.S. universities and third nationally for universities without a medical school, according to the National Science Foundation. Research at Texas A&M creates new knowledge that provides basic, fundamental and applied contributions resulting in many cases in economic benefits to the state, nation and world. To learn more, visit http://vpr.tamu.edu.

About the American Association for the Advancement of Science: The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world's largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science as well as Science Translational Medicine and Science Signaling. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert!, the premier science-news website, a service of AAAS.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@tamu.edu or Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, (979) 845-7361 or yennello@comp.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media