Kim R. Dunbar, distinguished professor of chemistry and a Davidson Professor of Science at Texas A&M University, has been selected as the inaugural recipient of the Texas A&M Women Former Students' Network (WFSN) Eminent Scholar Award.

Dunbar will be presented the award recognizing contributions in service, extraordinary achievement in original research, and scholarship in a Nov. 16 ceremony co-hosted by Texas A&M President R. Bowen Loftin and the WFSN in the University Center Exhibit Hall at 3:30 p.m.

An international expert in synthetic and physical inorganic chemistry, Dunbar joined the Texas A&M Department of Chemistry in 1999 after serving a number of years on the faculty at Michigan State University. In 2004, she was named a Davidson Professor of Science and a joint holder of the Davidson Chair in Science, meriting particular distinction as the first female chair holder in the College of Science. In 2007, she was named a distinguished professor of chemistry, Texas A&M's highest academic faculty rank.

"I am pleased to join with the Women Former Students' Network in recognizing the accomplishments of this outstanding scholar and mentor," said Texas A&M President R. Bowen Loftin. "Dr. Dunbar exemplifies our highest ideals as a university known for excellence in research as well as excellence in teaching."

Dunbar's use of structure and bonding relationships to explain physical and chemical phenomena has redirected and focused the work of researchers worldwide. Named a fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS) last year, she has been honored with an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship, a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, and fellowships in both the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Institute of Chemists. She is also a two-time recipient of the Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award -- the inaugural Graduate Mentoring Award in 2006 and another in Research in 2012. In May 2012, Dunbar was awarded an honorary doctorate degree from her undergraduate alma mater, Westminster College in New Wilmington, Pa., recently ranked first in the nation by Forbes.com as "Best College for Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM)."

"Women faculty at Texas A&M University, by their outstanding achievements in teaching and research, are in a unique position to influence the educational experience of current women students," notes Carol Jordan '80, president emerita of the WFSN and co-chair of the Eminent Scholar Review Committee. "Their successes are inspirational, and their distinguished careers aspirational to young women who are still choosing the future direction of their lives and careers."

"The WFSN is honored and privileged to be a part of the presentation of the Eminent Scholar Award. We are thrilled to support the exceptional women who serve Texas A&M University," says Melanie Cheairs '85, current president of the WFSN.

The Eminent Scholar Award was created jointly by the WFSN and Texas A&M University in 2010 to highlight extraordinary contributions of the university's women faculty who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in research, scholarship, artistic and creative pursuits, and engagement. The award, to be presented annually to a faculty member in a tenured or tenure-track position, includes a $4,000 cash gift and plaque.

For more information about the WFSN or upcoming award program, go to http://aggiewomen.org or contact Peggy Samson in Public Partnership & Outreach, Office of the Provost, at peggys@tamu.edu or (979) 845-6366.


Contact: Peggy Samson, (979) 845-6366 or peggys@tamu.edu

Samson Peggy

  • Dr. Kim R. Dunbar

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media