Eleven Texas A&M University mathematicians have earned selection to the initial class of American Mathematical Society (AMS) Fellows for 2013 in recognition of their international excellence in mathematical science and service.

Texas A&M professors Harold P. Boas, Ronald A. DeVore, Ronald G. Douglas, Rostislav Grigorchuk, William B. Johnson, Peter Kuchment, Gilles Pisier, Frank Sottile, Emil J. Straube, Clarence Wilkerson and Guoliang Yu are among the 1,119 international mathematicians representing more than 600 global institutions announced Thursday (Nov. 1) by the society as inaugural AMS Fellows in the program's initial year.

The prestigious designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics. The AMS Fellows Program seeks to create an enlarged class of mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the profession and to honor excellence.

"The AMS is the world's largest and most influential society dedicated to mathematical research, scholarship and education," said AMS President Eric M. Friedlander. "Recent advances in mathematics include solutions to age-old problems and key applications useful for society. The new AMS Fellows Program recognizes some of the most accomplished mathematicians -- AMS members who have contributed to our understanding of deep and important mathematical questions, to applications throughout the scientific world, and to educational excellence."

The University of California at Berkeley paced the elite list with 33 honorees, followed closely by the University of California Los Angeles (30) and the University of Michigan (29). Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Rutgers University-Brunswick (27), the University of Wisconsin-Madison (22), the University of Texas (21) and Cornell University, New York University-Courant Institute and Princeton University (20) rounded out the institutions with 20 or more honorees.

In Texas, a total of 43 mathematicians were recognized statewide, led by the University of Texas' 21 honorees, followed by Texas A&M's 11. Rice University had 7, while Baylor University, the University of Houston, the University of Texas at Dallas and the University of Texas at San Antonio each had one.

"Comparing our number of inaugural fellows to all the other universities allows us to see that Texas A&M Mathematics is solidly in the top 20 among public math departments, once again demonstrating the remarkable progress our department has made," said Texas A&M President Dr. R. Bowen Loftin.

Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, the 30,000-member AMS fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and everyday life.

"I am very pleased to see this many of my colleagues recognized," said Dr. Emil J. Straube, professor and head of the Texas A&M Department of Mathematics and a 2013 AMS Fellow as well. "This is further evidence of the department's tremendous rise in stature over the last 10 years, to a Top-10 research ranking among public institutions from the National Research Council."

For more on the AMS Fellows Program and a complete list of 2013 honorees, visit http://www.ams.org/profession/ams-fellows.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu or Dr. Emil J. Straube, (979) 845-6028 or straube@math.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media