M. Suhail Zubairy, professor of physics at Texas A&M University, has been recognized as one of three faculty recipients of 2011 Bush Excellence Awards for international teaching, international research and public service.

Zubairy, who was honored for his excellence in international research, received the award along with co-recipients Julian E. Gaspar (international teaching), director of the Center for International Business Studies (CIBS) at Mays Business School and clinical professor of finance, and S. Kerry Cooper (public service), the Cullen Trust Professor of Finance and executive director of the Center for International Business Programs of Mays Business School.

The trio was celebrated Wednesday (April 27) at the spring meeting of the Texas A&M International Board. Texas A&M President R. Bowen Loftin and Executive Director of the Bush Foundation Roman Popadiuk presented each recipient with a plaque and a check for $2,500 during an awards dinner.

Zubairy, holder of the Munnerlyn-Heep Chair in Quantum Optics in the College of Science, is widely considered to be among the top of his field in quantum optics, quantum communication and quantum computing. His nominator cited his exceptional publication record and his many prestigious awards, including the Humbolt, Khwarizmi Prize, Outstanding Physicist Award by the Organization of Islamic Countries and two Medals of Honor from the president of his home country of Pakistan, as proof of his research excellence. Zubairy is known worldwide for the textbook he co-authored with Texas A&M Distinguished Professor of Physics Marlan O. Scully, Quantum Optics, which has been translated into Chinese and Russian and is now in its fourth printing. His nominator added that Zubairy's most outstanding contribution is that he continues to have a great impact on the development of quantum optics programs in many countries around the world.

The Bush Excellence Awards were established through the vision and support of President and Mrs. George H.W. Bush in 2002, with financial assistance from the George Bush Presidential Library Foundation. Since that time, 30 awards have been presented to Texas A&M faculty. To learn more about the program or view recipients from previous years, visit http://intlcenter.tamu.edu/content/bush-excellence-awards-faculty.


Contact: Linda Edwards, (979) 862-6700

Edwards Linda

  • Salute to Excellence

    (Left to right:) Texas A&M faculty M. Suhail Zubairy, S. Kerry Cooper and Julian E. Gaspar were honored April 27 as recipients of 2011 Bush Excellence Awards for international research, public service, and international teaching, respectively.

  • M. Suhail Zubairy

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media