Eleven junior and senior mathematics and science majors at Texas A&M University preparing to become teachers have been selected to receive the prestigious National Science Foundation-funded Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship supporting science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education and related teaching careers.

Texas A&M juniors Jose Amaya (mathematics) and Andrew Rendon (chemistry) along with seniors Barclay Bell (physical science), Amy Clanton (mathematics), Rebekah Dolan (mathematics), Addison Folsom (mathematics), Amanda Harrison (mathematics), Nicole James (mathematics), Patricia Oliver (composite science), Madeline Tipton (chemistry) and Ashley Wernke (mathematics) were recognized Thursday (April 21) during a lunch reception at the University Club hosted by the College of Science and featuring both university and Texas A&M University System officials.

Created in response to the nationwide shortage of qualified K-12 educators in STEM areas, the Noyce Scholarship -- the largest bestowed by the college -- offers each recipient $10,000 per year under the condition that they agree to teach mathematics or science for two years in Texas public schools for each year they accept the scholarship.

"The Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program from the National Science Foundation seeks to attract the best and brightest college students in mathematics and science to the profession of education," said Dr. Timothy P. Scott, associate dean for undergraduate programs in the College of Science. "In recognition of the fact that reaching our national potential in STEM requires a solid mathematics and science foundation in the public school system, we seek to attract and reward the brightest students who possess the passion of their respective fields as well as the ability to inspire the next generation of leaders."

This year's 11 recipients share something in common beyond being STEM majors. Each is affiliated with Texas A&M's aggieTEACH Program, a nationally peer-reviewed teacher recruitment model designed to produce more certified mathematics and science teachers -- positions in high demand statewide and nationally. A collaborative effort between the College of Science and the College of Education and Human Development, the program has helped position Texas A&M as the state leader in mathematics and science teacher production for the last six years, according to the Texas State Board for Educator Certification.

"Not only are these students receiving a very generous award, but they also will be receiving critical real-world experience and at an earlier stage," Scott said. "Knowing that they have excelled academically themselves, I have every confidence these students are well on their way to becoming tremendous classroom leaders."

To be eligible for Noyce scholarship consideration, students must be full-time undergraduate mathematics or science majors within the College of Science, maintain a 3.0 GPA and be enrolled in an educator certification program.

The scholarship's namesake, Robert Noyce, was a pioneer of semiconductor development and inventor of the integrated circuit, or microchip. The overall scholarship program seeks to improve public education by providing funding to institutions of higher education to support scholarships, stipends and academic programs for undergraduate STEM majors and post-baccalaureate students with STEM degrees to help prepare them for teaching careers.

Click here for more information on the Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program.

To learn more about the aggieTEACH Program, visit http://aggieteach.tamu.edu.


Contact: Chris Jarvis, (979) 845-7246 or cjarvis@science.tamu.edu or Dr. Timothy P. Scott, (979) 845-7362 or tim@science.tamu.edu.

Jarvis Chris

  • Best and Brightest

    2011 Noyce Scholarship recipients (from left) Patricia Oliver, Addison Folsom, Rebekah Dolan and Jose Amaya enjoy a celebratory lunch at Texas A&M's University Club en route to bright futures in mathematics and science teaching.

  • (From left) Madeline Tipton, Amanda Harrison and Barclay Bell also were honored as 2011 Noyce Scholarship winners.

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media