Four faculty members in the College of Science are among the 24 Texas A&M University faculty and staff members to be honored by the university and The Association of Former Students with 2011 Distinguished Achievement Awards.

The awards and their respective recipients from the college are as follows:

Teaching (10 given university-wide)

Research (6 given university-wide)

The university-level Distinguished Achievement Awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to 906 professionals (including this year's recipients) who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M.

The 2011 Distinguished Achievement Awards will be formally presented at 1:30 p.m. April 27 during a ceremony in Rudder Theater. In recognition of their achievements, each recipient will receive a $4,000 cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

For more information about the awards, contact Kelli Hutka '97 at The Association of Former Students at (979) 845-7514.

The Association of Former Students was established in 1879 and is the official alumni organization of Texas A&M University. The Association connects nearly 500,000 members of the worldwide Aggie Network with one another and the university, and provides more than $7 million a year in funding for scholarships, awards, activities and enrichments for students, faculty, staff and former students.


Contact: Shana Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu

Walker Scot

  • Christopher Pope

  • Joseph Pasciak

  • Daniel Romo

  • Jairo Sinova

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media