Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, Regents Professor of Chemistry and associate dean for faculty affairs in the College of Science at Texas A&M University, has been selected as the 2011 recipient of the American Chemical Society (ACS) Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal in recognition of distinguished service to chemistry by women chemists.

Yennello will be presented with the prestigious annual honor Tuesday (March 29) at the National Awards Ceremony and Banquet honoring all 2011 ACS national award winners in conjunction with the 241st ACS National Meeting, scheduled for March 27-31 in Anaheim, Calif. She will receive $5,000 as well as a commemorative medallion and certificate.

An internationally renowned nuclear chemist, Yennello is a member of Texas A&M's world-class Cyclotron Institute as well as a University Faculty Fellow and current chair of the College of Science Diversity Committee. Her pioneering example as an instructor, research scientist, administrator, and mentor to faculty and students -- particularly women and minorities -- is equally respected at Texas A&M and in national and international professional circles, as evidenced by this award and her recent receipt of the Texas A&M Women's Faculty Network Outstanding Mentor Award in 2010.

In addition to her teaching, nuclear research and administrative duties, Yennello currently serves as principal investigator for four major National Science Foundation grants totaling more than $5.5 million in funding to benefit STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) education and outreach. The most recent and far-reaching grant, the $3.5 million ADVANCE Center for Women Faculty awarded in October, involves an interdisciplinary collaboration spanning five Texas A&M colleges to establish a new center dedicated to supporting women faculty and improving their odds of success through a more psychologically healthy workplace. She also is architect and co-chair of an NSF-funded Gender Equity Conversation project.

"Sherry Yennello has played a crucial role during the past several years in the College of Science's significant progress in hiring women faculty and, in fact, in her role as associate dean for faculty affairs, she has done much in the areas of recruiting and retaining all faculty," said Dr. H. Joseph Newton, dean of the College of Science.

A fellow of the American Physical Society since 2005, Yennello is a member of the American Chemical Society, Sigma Xi and Phi Lambda Upsilon. Her many awards include the Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement College-Level Award in Teaching (2008), the Sigma Xi National Young Investigator Award (2000), the NSF Young Investigator Award (1994), the Oak Ridge Junior Faculty Enhancement Award (1993) and the General Electric Faculty for the Future Award (1993).

Yennello received her Ph.D. from Indiana University in 1990 and joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1993 after serving as a postdoctoral fellow at Michigan State University from 1991-92.

The American Chemical Society, founded in 1876 and chartered by the United States Congress, is the world's largest scientific society and leading source of scientific information. It is a non-profit, independent membership organization that represents professionals at any degree level and in any field of science that includes chemistry.

To learn more about Yennello and her award-winning efforts to benefit chemistry education, research and service, visit http://www.chem.tamu.edu/faculty/yennello.

For more information on the ACS and its national awards program, visit http://portal.acs.org/portal/PublicWebSite/funding/awards/national/htm.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu or Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, (979) 845-7361 or yennello@comp.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Dr. Sherry J. Yennello

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media