Dr. D. Wayne Goodman, distinguished professor of chemistry at Texas A&M University, has been selected to receive the 2008 JoAnn Treat Research Excellence Award by the Texas A&M Research Foundation Board of Trustees.

Named in honor of JoAnn Treat, who served 19 years as president of the Research Foundation before retiring in August 2003, the award is presented annually to a faculty member whose research is administered through the Foundation in recognition of research excellence and accomplishments during the past five years.

Each year the award alternates between two categories of eligible faculty -- tenured or tenure-track and those who have not yet achieved the rank of professor -- at all Texas A&M University System-affiliated institutions. The 2008 award recognizes the former category.

Goodman, an internationally recognized physical chemist who specializes in catalysis and surface chemistry, was presented with the award at a December 8 ceremony held in conjunction with the Foundation's annual councilor/trustee fall meeting. Along with the award, he received $10,000 and a commemorative plaque and will have his name inscribed on the JoAnn Treat commemorative glass vase on display in the Foundation office lobby.

A member of the Texas A&M faculty and a full professor of chemistry since 1988, Goodman holds the Robert A. Welch Chair and also is co-director of the Center for Catalysis and Surface Chemistry. Previously he was head of the Surface Science Division at Sandia National Laboratories. He is the recipient of the American Chemical Society's (ACS) Ipatieff Award (1983) and Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award (1993), the British Vacuum Society's Yarwood Medal (1994), a Humboldt Research Award (1995), a Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award in Research (1997), the Giuseppe Parravano Award (2001), the ACS's Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry (2002) and the Gabor A. Sormorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis (2005).

Goodman, who received his Ph.D. from the University of Texas in 1974, has authored nearly 500 publications and book chapters and is an active member/officer of a number of professional societies. A former associate editor for the Journal of Catalysis, he currently serves on the advisory boards of Surface Science, Langmuir, Catalysis Letters, the Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter and E-Journal of Surface Science and Nanotechnology.

Goodman is the third faculty member in the College of Science to receive the prestigious award since its inception in 2004. Dr. Deborah Bell-Pedersen, associate professor of biology, merited selection in 2005, followed by Dr. Alexey Belyanin, associate professor of physics, in 2007.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@tamu.edu or Dr. D. Wayne Goodman, (979) 845-0214 or goodman@mail.chem.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • D. Wayne Goodman

    2008 JoAnn Treat Research Excellence Award winner.

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media