Eight Palo Alto College (PAC) students have been selected as inaugural members of the Palo Alto College-Texas A&M University Science Scholars Program, a revolutionary National Science Foundation-funded partnership designed to offer opportunity and resources to deserving San Antonio area students pursuing careers in science and technology.

PAC students Sonny Aguilar, Jose Casillas, John Chavez, Genevieve Denham, Roxanne Flores, Shelley Hobbs-Hoefelmeyer, Reva Rodriquez and Wanda Vogt will be introduced Wednesday (Sept. 10) as 2008-09 Science Scholars and honored along with their families at the Science Scholars Banquet, scheduled for 7 p.m. in the Student Center Annex on the PAC campus.

The PAC-Texas A&M Science Scholars Program (SSP) seeks to increase the number of students receiving bachelor's degrees in STEM -- science, technology, engineering and mathematics -- disciplines. The program, a partnership between PAC and the Texas A&M College of Science, assists qualified students by providing scholarship funds to support their pursuit of an associate's degree at PAC as well as two additional years of study at Texas A&M en route to a four-year degree in biology, chemistry, mathematics or physics.

The event will feature remarks by administrators from both universities, including Dr. Ana M. "Cha" Guzmán, president of Palo Alto College; Dr. H. Joseph Newton, dean of the Texas A&M College of Science; and Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, associate dean for faculty affairs and diversity in the College of Science and Science Scholars Program (SSP) overall project manager.

"We're excited about these students and the partnership that we're building with Palo Alto College for the future," Yennello said. "This is important not only to Texas but to the nation that we expand educational opportunities to benefit all students, particularly those who are interested in scientific and technological careers."

Yennello anticipates that a minimum of 23 academically talented, financially deserving students will be recruited into scientific disciplines during the course of the five-year project, now in its initial year. Under the existing 2+2 agreement between the two universities, all courses successfully completed at PAC will transfer to Texas A&M, and all scholars will receive assistance for any unmet financial need up to $10,000 per year during their time at PAC as well as at Texas A&M.

Palo Alto College, one of the Alamo Community Colleges, is a fully accredited community college located on the Southside of San Antonio, and awards associate degrees, short-term certificates and offers non-credit continuing education classes.

For more on the Texas A&M College of Science, including a complete list of undergraduate degree and major options, go to http://www.science.tamu.edu.

For additional information about the Science Scholars Program, including answers to frequently asked questions and an application link, visit http://www.science.tamu.edu/sciencescholars.



Texas A&M University: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu or Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, (979) 845-7361 or yennello@comp.tamu.edu

Palo Alto College: Vincent Bosquez, (210) 921-5269 or vbosquez3@mail.accd.edu or Dr. Sara Wilkins, (210) 921-5295 or swilkins6@mail.accd.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Science Scholars

    The inaugural members of the Palo Alto College - Texas A&M University Science Scholars Program, pictured with project administrators from both universities. (L-R:) Dr. Sherry J. Yennello (SSP Project Manager/Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Diversity, Texas A&M College of Science); Dr. Stacey Johnson (Vice President for Academic Affairs, Palo Alto College); Science Scholars Genevieve Denham, John Chavez, Sonny Aguilar, Roxanne Flores, Reva Rodriquez, Wanda Vogt and Shelley Hobbs-Hoefelmeyer; Ms. Sara Wilkins (SSP Project Director, Palo Alto College); Dr. Timothy P. Scott (SSP Project Director and Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, Texas A&M College of Science); and Dr. R. Michael Flores (Vice President of College Services, Palo Alto College).

  • 2008 Letterwinners

    The PAC-Texas A&M Science Scholars (seated left to right: Genevieve Denham, Wanda Vogt, Roxanne Flores, John Chavez, Shelley Hobbs-Hoefelmeyer, Sonny Aguilar and Reva Rodriquez), signing their program letters of intent as members of the Palo Alto selection committee (standing, left to right: Deborah Dixon; Ray Hernandez; Joseph Ottum; Jose Trevino; Dr. Michael Shanklin; and Carmen Velasquez) observe.

  • Future-Speak

    Dr. Timothy P. Scott (third from left), associate dean for undergraduate programs in the Texas A&M College of Science and Science Scholars Program director, speaks with scholar family members and other banquet guests.

  • Presenting Opportunity

    Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, associate dean for faculty affairs and diversity in the Texas A&M College of Science and overall project manager for the Science Scholars Program, addresses the crowd.

  • Arriba!

    Event festivities included a mariachi band.

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media