Two Department of Chemistry faculty are among the 24 Texas A&M University faculty and staff members who will be recognized April 29 by the University and The Association of Former Students with 2008 University-level Distinguished Achievement Awards in the following categories:

Teaching (10 given university-wide) - Daniel A. Singleton, chemistry.

Research (6 given university-wide) - David E. Bergbreiter, chemistry.

The university-level Distinguished Achievement Awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to 834 professionals (including this year's recipients) who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M.

The 2008 Distinguished Achievement Awards will be formally presented at 1:30 p.m. April 29 during ceremonies in Rudder Theater. In recognition of their achievements, each recipient will receive a $4,000 check, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

For more information about the awards, contact Kelli Hutka at The Association of Former Students at (979) 458-7506.

The Association of Former Students, established in 1879, is the official alumni organization of Texas A&M University. The Association connects the 450,000 members of the worldwide Aggie Network with each other and the university, and provides more than $4.3 million a year in funding for scholarships, awards, activities and enrichment for students, faculty, staff and former students.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Daniel A. Singleton

  • David E. Bergbreiter

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media