Dr. Sherry J. Yennello, professor of chemistry and associate dean for diversity in the College of Science at Texas A&M University, has been designated a Regents Professor for 2006-07 by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.

Yennello is one of five Texas A&M professors who were honored with the prestigious appointment during the A&M System Board of Regents' meeting Thursday (Dec. 6).

The Board established the Regents Professor Award program in 1996 to recognize employees who have made exemplary contributions to their university or agency and to the people of Texas. To date, 106 faculty members have been named Regents Professors. Yennello ranks as only the second within the College of Science (Dr. Robert Clark, physics, 1998) to merit the honor.

Nominees must be full-time professors or senior-level professionals who have held that rank in the A&M System for at least five years and have produced a distinguished record of teaching, research and/or service. The chief executive officer of each university or agency nominates candidates for these designations. Nominations are reviewed by the chancellor, who then recommends them to the Board of Regents.

Recipients are recognized with a $9,000 stipend, a commemorative medallion and a certificate.

Yennello, whose research on physical and nuclear chemistry is internationally renowned, joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1993. She is a member of the Cyclotron Institute as well as a University Faculty Fellow and current chair of the College of Science Diversity Committee. A Fellow of the American Physical Society, Yennello also is a member of the American Chemical Society, Sigma Xi and Phi Lambda Upsilon.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu

Evans Tina

  • Sherry J. Yennello

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media