Texas A&M University Chemistry Professors Dr. Kim R. Dunbar, Dr. Michael B. Hall and Dr. Frank M. Raushel have been appointed as Davidson Professors of Science and joint holders of the Davidson Chair in Science, announced Dr. H. Joseph Newton, dean of Texas A&M's College of Science.

Newton described the appointments as "a particularly fitting tribute to the internationally recognized excellence of these faculty members." Dr. Emile A. Schweikert, professor and head of the Department of Chemistry, agreed, citing the many letters of reference received from Nobel Laureates and National Academy of Sciences members as evidence of the high global esteem in which each is held.

Dunbar, who merits particular distinction as the first female chair holder in the College's history, joined the A&M faculty in 1999 after serving on the faculty at Michigan State University. Previously she had carried out postdoctoral research at A&M from 1985-86 under the direction of Distinguished Professor of Chemistry F. Albert Cotton after earning a bachelor of science degree from Westminster College and a doctorate from Purdue University. Dunbar's research in synthetic and structural inorganic chemistry, which is focused on problems at the interface of materials and biological chemistry, has earned her multiple honors, including an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship and a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award.

A member of the A&M faculty since 1975, Hall has served as the College of Science's executive associate dean since 2002 and is the director of A&M's Laboratory for Molecular Simulation. In addition, he previously headed the Department of Chemistry from 1986-94. Hall holds a bachelor of science in chemistry from Juniata College as well as a doctorate in chemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He was a postdoctoral research fellow at the University of Manchester, England, and a research associate at the University of Wisconsin. Following a sabbatical leave in Cambridge University, Hall was named a life member of Clare Hall, Cambridge. He is a member of the editorial board of "Theoretical Chemical Accounts," and his research interests include applying state-of-the-art theoretical techniques to chemical problems of current interest to practicing inorganic, organometallic, and biological chemists, and developing new algorithms especially suited to electronic structure problems in large transition metal molecules.

Raushel, who currently holds joint faculty appointments in Biochemistry and Biophysics and in Toxicology and is a faculty member for the Chemistry/Biology Interface Training Program, joined the A&M faculty in 1980. He completed his postdoctoral research at Pennsylvania State University after receiving a bachelor of arts degree from St. Thomas College and a doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Raushel has been recognized with a National Institutes of Health Research Career Development Award for his research efforts, which are directed toward a more complete understanding of the fundamental principles involved in enzyme-catalyzed chemistry and the dependence on protein structure.

The Davidson Chair in Science was established in the College of Science in 1981 through a bequest from Mr. C.J. Davidson.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Michael Hall

    Professor of Chemistry

  • Kim Dunbar

    Professor of Chemistry

  • Frank Raushel

    Professor of Chemistry

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media