The American Chemical Society (ACS) awarded the 2005 Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis to D. Wayne Goodman, Distinguished Professor in Chemistry. He will receive his award at the annual national ACS meeting during the awards ceremony on March 15, 2005 in San Diego. Goodman will present his paper before the Division of Colloid & Surface Chemistry.

"When a faculty member's national reputation is increased by winning such a prestigious award, all benefit," said Emile A. Schweikert, head of chemistry. "We are proud of what Wayne has accomplished."

Goodman, a physical chemist specializing in catalysis and surface chemistry, joined the Chemistry faculty as a full professor in 1988. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Texas in 1974 and, after a NATO postdoctoral fellowship in Germany, was employed at the National Bureau of Standards in Washington D. C. for four years. From 1980-1988, he worked in Albuquerque, New Mexico as a Research Scientist at Sandia National Laboratories, serving as Head of Surface Science Division from 1985-1988. Dr. Goodman is the holder of the Robert A. Welch Chair in the Department of Chemistry and is also the Director of the Center for Catalysis.

The Gabor A. Somorjai Award was established by the ACS Board of Directors in 2002 to recognize outstanding theoretical, experimental, or developmental research resulting in the advancement of understanding or application of catalysis. It is supported by the Gabor A. Somorjai Endowment Fund.


Contact: Becky Morrow, College of Science, Texas A&M University, EMAIL: becky@science.tamu.edu, PH: 979-845-7361.

Morrow Becky

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media