Two faculty from the Texas A&M University College of Science have been named to Clarivate Analytics' Highly Cited Researchers 2018 list recognizing world-class researchers for exceptional research performance in their respective fields.

Mathematician Ronald A. DeVore and chemist Hongcai Joe Zhou are among 10 Texas A&M faculty featured in the annual list identifying top international talent in the sciences and social sciences. Both were named for the fifth consecutive year to the prestigious list, which recognizes research excellence as demonstrated by production of multiple highly cited papers over a decade.

According to Clarivate Analytics, about 4,000 international researchers were selected for their exceptional performance in one or more of 21 fields -- those used in Clarivate Analytics' Essential Science Indicators, a subset of the Web of Science -- as highly cited papers. Each ranks among the top 1 percent most cited within a particular subject field and year of publication in Web of Science Core Collection-indexed journals between 2006 and 2016, thereby earning each paper and author the mark of exceptional impact from their peers.

This year for the first time, the list introduces a new cross-field category identifying researchers with substantial influence across several fields during the last decade, adding some 2,000 researchers with multidisciplinary impact to the approximately 4,000 selected in a single field.

"The A&M researchers who qualified for this year's list represent the scope of the Texas A&M research enterprise, from science and engineering to business and liberal arts," Vice President for Research Mark A. Barteau said. "We are proud of their accomplishments as well as those of our many other outstanding researchers who contribute every day to advancing human knowledge and to improving society and the world around us."

DeVore, a world-renowned expert in approximation theory, numerical analysis and signal processing, joined the Texas A&M Department of Mathematics faculty in 2007 as a visiting professor. He was appointed in 2008 as the inaugural holder of the Dr. Walter E. Koss Endowed Professorship in Mathematics and as a distinguished professor in 2010. In May 2017, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. An inaugural fellow of the American Mathematical Society (2012) as well as a fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (2018), the Bulgarian Academy of Science (2007) and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2001, DeVore is globally recognized for his many contributions and achievements in a variety of mathematical areas, including applications of Fourier analysis, numerical analysis and approximation theory to problems in signal analysis and remote sensing. His hundreds of colloquia and conference presentations include plenary addresses for the AMS, SIAM and the prestigious International Congress of Mathematicians, a coveted honor extended only to the top mathematicians worldwide. He has been honored with numerous career prizes and awards, including the Bulgarian Gold Medal of Science, the SPIE Wavelet Pioneer Award, an Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Award (2002) and a Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award in Research (2014).

Zhou, an international pioneer in ligand design and synthesis, joined the Texas A&M Department of Chemistry faculty in 2008 and is holder of the Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry. He also is a member of the Texas A&M Energy Institute and the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. He received his doctorate from Texas A&M under the direction of legendary chemist F. Albert Cotton and is a world leader in the design of framework materials -- precisely arranged and highly porous polymer-based structures including metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) and porous polymer networks (PPNs) that hold promise in a variety of energy and environment-related areas and applications. A fellow of both the American Chemical Society and the Royal Society of Chemistry as well as the American Association for the Advancement of Science, he has received many awards, including the Research Innovation Award and the Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award, the Miami University Distinguished Scholar-Young Investigator Award, the Faculty Excellence Award from Air Products and the U.S. Department of Energy Hydrogen Program Special Recognition Award.

To see the full listing of Highly Cited Researchers 2018, searchable by researchers' first and last names, primary and secondary institutions and main subject area, visit https://hcr.clarivate.com/.

# # # # # # # # # #

About Research at Texas A&M University: As one of the world's leading research institutions, Texas A&M is at the forefront in making significant contributions to scholarship and discovery, including that of science and technology. Research conducted at Texas A&M represented annual expenditures of more than $905.4 million in fiscal year 2017, ranking Texas A&M in the top 20 of the National Science Foundation's Higher Education Research and Development survey (2017). Texas A&M's research creates new knowledge that provides basic, fundamental and applied contributions resulting, in many cases, in economic benefits to the state, nation and world. To learn more, visit http://research.tamu.edu/.

About Clarivate Analytics: Clarivate Analytics is the global leader in providing trusted insights and analytics to accelerate the pace of innovation. Building on a heritage going back more than a century and a half, we have built some of the most trusted brands across the innovation lifecycle, including Web of Science, Cortellis, Derwent, CompuMark, MarkMonitor and Techstreet. Today, Clarivate Analytics is a new and independent company on a bold entrepreneurial mission to help our clients radically reduce the time from new ideas to life-changing innovations. For additional information, go to https://clarivate.com/.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Dr. Ronald A. DeVore

  • Dr. Hongcai Joe Zhou

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media