Texas A&M University Vice President for Research Mark A. Barteau (far left) and Hagler Institute for Advance Study Founding Director John L. Junkins (far right) welcome four of the Institute's nine Faculty Fellows for the Class of 2018-19. Left to right: Barteau, William E. Unruh, Andrea Rinaldo, Michael J. Duff, Yonggang Huang and Junkins. (Credit: Texas A&M University Division of Research.)


The Hagler Institute for Advanced Study at Texas A&M University announced today (September 20) the nine members of its 2018-19 class of Faculty Fellows, each of whom is renowned for significantly advancing research in areas such as engineering, chemistry, physics, materials science, energy and political science.

In an annual reception held in the Great Hall of the Williams Administration Building, the Hagler Institute also disclosed its 2018-19 Distinguished Lecturer: Harvard Law School Bussey Professor of Law Joseph W. Singer, who was recently identified as one of the three most-cited U.S. property scholars of this decade.

The latest class of Faculty Fellows includes members of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and equivalent academies around the world, plus fellows of royal societies in England, Canada and Australia.

The College of Science will host or be affiliated with four of the nine internationally renowned scholars:

  • Vanderlei Salvador Bagnato, Professor of Physics and Materials Science, University of São Paulo and the Institute of Physics of São Carlos, Brazil: Bagnato has conducted meaningful research in laser cooling, trapping neutral atoms and applying the principles of optics and lasers in health sciences. Bagnato is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the Pontifical Academy of Sciences of the Vatican, the World Academy of Sciences and the Brazilian Academy of Science, as well as being a Commander of Brazil's National Order of Scientific Merit. Bagnato will collaborate with faculty and students in the College of Engineering and the College of Science.

  • Michael J. Duff, Emeritus Professor of Theoretical Physics and Senior Research Investigator, Imperial College, London: Duff's research has explored quantum gravity, quantum informatics, string theory, M-theory and unified theories of the elementary particles. Duff is a Fellow of the Royal Society of London and holds the Paul Dirac Gold Medal and Prize from the Institute of Physics, a Distinguished Achievement Award for Research from Texas A&M, and a Meeting Gold Medal from El Colegio Nacional. Duff will collaborate with faculty and students in the Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering and in the College of Science.

  • Cameron Jones, R.L. Martin Distinguished Chair of Chemistry, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia: Jones has led a research group in developing facets of chemistry in ways that seek to refine existing views on structure, bonding and stability. He holds the Return Senior Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, is an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, is an honorary member of Magdalen College in Oxford and has won both the Frankland Award of the United Kingdom's Royal Society of Chemistry and the H.G. Smith Memorial Medal of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. Jones will collaborate with faculty and students in the College of Science.

  • William G. Unruh, Professor of Physics, University of British Columbia: Unruh has made significant contributions to general relativity and, with Stephen Hawking, refined the foundations of quantum mechanics in relation to black holes. Unruh is a Fellow of the Royal Society of both London and Canada and is a foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He holds the Rutherford Medal from the Royal Society of Canada as well as the Herzberg Medal and the Medal of Achievement from the Canadian Association of Physicists. Unruh will collaborate with faculty and students in the College of Science.

"Once again, the Hagler Institute has assembled a class of scholars and researchers with exceptional qualifications," Texas A&M President Michael K. Young said. "These nine Faculty Fellows will work closely with our own outstanding faculty-researchers to advance the frontiers of academic research, to enhance the reputation of Texas A&M research and to present transformational opportunities to Texas A&M undergraduate and graduate students."

Each Faculty Fellow will partner with one or more of the departments offering graduate degrees housed in Texas A&M's 16 colleges or schools, or at Texas A&M's branch campus in Galveston. The Hagler Institute provides fellowships for graduate students to work with Faculty Fellows as well as funding to support visiting graduate students and postdoctoral researchers affiliated with the Faculty Fellows.

"Experience tells us that these Faculty Fellows will engage our faculty and students in research that cuts across the academic spectrum," Texas A&M Vice President for Research Mark A. Barteau said. "This will continue to advance Texas A&M's strategy of conducting high-level research that applies a multidisciplinary approach to solving global problems."

Each year, the Hagler Institute selects its Faculty Fellows from among top scholars who have distinguished themselves through outstanding professional accomplishments or significant recognition. Previous classes have included two Nobel laureates, a Wolf Prize recipient, a recipient of the Hubble Medal in Literature for Lifetime Achievement, a recipient of the National Medal of Science, an awardee of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation and a two-time recipient of the State Prize of Russia.

"This seventh class of Faculty Fellows comprises a diverse cohort that will enrich our research programs and enable us to highlight the caliber of Texas A&M's students and faculty researchers to the rest of the world," Hagler Institute Founding Director John L. Junkins said.

The Hagler Institute officially will induct its Class of 2018-19 Faculty Fellows at its annual gala in early 2019.

To learn more about the Hagler Institute, visit http://hias.tamu.edu/.

See a related feature in the Bryan-College Station Eagle.

# # # # # # # # # #

About Research at Texas A&M University: As one of the world's leading research institutions, Texas A&M is at the forefront in making significant contributions to scholarship and discovery, including that of science and technology. Research conducted at Texas A&M represented annual expenditures of more than $905.4 million in fiscal year 2017. Texas A&M ranked in the top 20 of the National Science Foundation's Higher Education Research and Development survey (2016), based on expenditures of more than $892.7 million in fiscal year 2016. Texas A&M's research creates new knowledge that provides basic, fundamental and applied contributions resulting, in many cases, in economic benefits to the state, nation and world. To learn more, visit http://research.tamu.edu/.


Contact: Rusty Cawley, (979) 458-1475 or rcawley@tamu.edu

Cawley Rusty

  • Vanderlei Salvador Bagnato

  • Michael J. Duff

  • Cameron Jones

  • William G. Unruh

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media