Editors: Cleveland, Ohio; Corpus Christi note local names.

COLLEGE STATION ­­ A statistician, a physician and a chemist are the first three graduates of Texas A&M University's College of Science to be inducted into the college's Academy of Distinguished Graduates.

Kenneth G. Davenport of Corpus Christi, Dr. Richard H. Harrison III of Bryan and Michael H. Kutner of Cleveland, Ohio, were inducted as the academy's charter members during the College of Science's Spring Recognition Banquet.

The three were recognized for their contributions to the programs and activities of the College of Science, technical and scientific accomplishments, and contributions to their professions.

"We could not be more pleased with the selection of these three individuals," said Richard E. Ewing, dean of the College of Science. "They honor us and this university with their accomplishments."

Kutner, who received his Ph.D. in statistics in 1971, now chairs the Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Before that he was on the faculty of Emory University.

Kutner is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association (ASA) and is the author of about 135 research articles in refereed journals and co­author of a widely used statistics textbook. In 1991, he was one of four statisticians to receive the ASA's Founding Award.

Davenport received a Ph.D. in chemistry in 1982 and began his professional career with Celanese Chemical Co. in Corpus Christi. A major focus of his research has been developing new oxidation chemistry and catalysts for commodity and specialty chemicals.

He lectures widely at major universities in the United States and Europe and has been an active participant and plenary lecturer at national and international meetings. In 1991, he received the Leon Starr Award, Hoechst Celanese's highest worldwide award for technical excellence.

A urologist, Harrison received his undergraduate degree from Texas A&M in biology and chemistry in 1947 and attended medical school at Baylor College of Medicine.

While at Texas A&M, he was on the Corps staff, a member of the Ross Volunteers, a distinguished student seven semesters and elected to the Scholarship Honor Society. At Baylor, he was elected a member of the Osler Society, and the Texas Medical Association elected him an Honorary Member in 1991. He completed a rotating internship at Jefferson Davis Hospital in Houston and a rotating residency in urology at Baylor.

Harrison has been in practice in Bryan for more than 30 years. In addition, he has written articles for medical journals and more­popular medical magazines, created audiovisual aids and conducted continuing education short courses for medical professionals.

Harrison, a Distinguished Alumnus, has served on the Association of Former Students Board of Directors, been a clinical professor in the Texas A&M College of Medicine, a member of the President's Council, the Chancellor's Century Council and the Texas A&M Research Foundation.

Contact: Gene Charleton at (409) 845-4644 or by e-mail at e-charleton@tamu.edu.

Office of University Relations

Charleton Gene

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media