(Credit: iStock.)


Texas A&M University statistician Anirban Bhattacharya has been selected to receive the American Statistical Association's 2018 Gottfried E. Noether Young Scholar Award recognizing significant early-career contributions in nonparametric statistics.

The Noether Awards were established in 1999 as a tribute to Gottfried Emanuel Noether, a leading scholar in nonparametric statistics with interests in research and teaching. Noether's wife, Emiliana Noether, and daughter, Monica Noether, presented the ASA with an endowment fund to recognize distinguished researchers and teachers and to support research in the field of nonparametric statistics.

The Noether Young Scholar Award is bestowed each year to an accomplished young researcher under the age of 35 who has demonstrated interest and achievements in nonparametric statistics in research or teaching. Likewise, the Noether Senior Scholar Award is given annually to a distinguished senior researcher or teacher who has made outstanding contributions to nonparametric statistics.

Bhattacharya will be presented with his engraved award and $2,500 at the Joint Statistical Meetings 2018 in Vancouver, where he also will deliver an invited lecture. Occurring annually since 1974, JSM is the largest gathering of statisticians and data scientists in the world.

"The National Academy of Sciences recognizes this as a prestigious award, one of only a few statistics awards that receive this designation," said Dr. Valen E. Johnson, professor and head of the Texas A&M Department of Statistics. "I agree with the NAS that this award is very prestigious, and I am thrilled to have this year's winner in our department."

Bhattacharya earned his Ph.D. in statistics from Duke University in 2012, then completed one year of postdoctoral study there prior to joining the Texas A&M Statistics faculty in 2013. His research, funded in part by the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health and Office of Naval Research, focuses on theoretical properties of high-dimensional and nonparametric Bayesian procedures, including shrinkage priors and variable selection. Most recently, he was recognized with a 2017 NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award for work capitalizing on his expertise in Bayesian model averaging and selection that is expected to advance statistical inference for high-dimensional data and create user-friendly software packages to facilitate analysis of structured data sets.

Bhattacharya has served since 2015 as an associate editor for Statistics and Probability Letters and as a reviewer for multiple journals, including Annals of Statistics, Annals of Applied Statistics and Journal of the American Statistical Association. In addition to co-organizing Texas A&M's 2016 Structured Multivariate Data Workshop, he was a discussant in a February 2017 NSF Division of Mathematical Sciences panel as well as a scientific committee member of the June 2017 11th Conference on Bayesian Nonparametrics in Paris.

The ASA is the world's largest community of statisticians and the oldest continuously operating professional science society in the United States. Its members serve in industry, government and academia in more than 90 countries, advancing research and promoting sound statistical practice to inform public policy and improve human welfare. For additional information, visit the ASA website at www.amstat.org.

To learn more about Bhattacharya and his teaching and research, go to https://www.stat.tamu.edu/~anirbanb/.

# # # # # # # # # #

About Research at Texas A&M University: As one of the world's leading research institutions, Texas A&M is at the forefront in making significant contributions to scholarship and discovery, including that of science and technology. Research conducted at Texas A&M represented annual expenditures of more than $905.4 million in fiscal year 2017. Texas A&M ranked in the top 20 of the National Science Foundation's Higher Education Research and Development survey (2016), based on expenditures of more than $892.7 million in fiscal year 2016. Texas A&M's research creates new knowledge that provides basic, fundamental and applied contributions resulting, in many cases, in economic benefits to the state, nation and world. To learn more, visit http://research.tamu.edu/.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979)862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu or Dr. Anirban Bhattacharya, (979) 845-3141 or anirbanb@stat.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Dr. Anirban Bhattacharya

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media