Dr. D. Wayne Goodman has been named the holder of a Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry at Texas A&M University.

Goodman is the second professor from the Texas A&M's Department of Chemistry to receive this honor. Dr. F. Albert Cotton also holds a Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry.

The chairs are endowed by the Welch Foundation, which was founded in the mid-1950s to promote chemical research in Texas.

Goodman was selected for the prestigious chair by Texas A&M and the Welch Foundation based on his achievements in the field of chemistry.

Goodman's work on surface chemical problems has made him a key figure in the development of modern surface science and has won him many awards, including the Texas A&M University Distinguished Research Award, an honorary Doctorate of Science from Mississippi College, the Yarwood Medal, The American Chemical Society's Ipatieff Prize and the Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award.

After earning a bachelor's degree from Mississippi College and a Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin, Goodman joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1988 where he still serves as a professor of chemistry. He has also been the director of the Texas A&M University Center for Catalysis and Surface Research Science since 1997.

CONTACT: Dr. Emile A. Schweikert (409) 845-9829

Office of University Relations


College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media