Two scientists at Texas A&M University are among the top 75 chemistry researchers of the past 75 years, according to the readers of Chemical & Engineering News.

Nobel laureate Sir Derek H.R. Barton, a distinguished professor in Texas A&M's Chemistry Department, and F. Albert Cotton, also a distinguished professor, joined notable chemists such as Linus Pauling, Robert B. Woodward, Glenn Seaborg and Wallace Carothers on the list, chosen last year in a survey of Chemical & Engineering News readers.

Chemical & Engineering News is the weekly newsmagazine of the American Chemical Society, the largest scientific society in the world. The list appeared in a special 75th anniversary issue published Monday (Jan. 12).

C&EN readers were asked to nominate "the top 75 distinguished contributors to the chemical enterprise" over the past 75 years. Nominees could be living or dead, and more than 1,200 researchers were nominated.

Barton and Cotton are among 32 living scientists on the list.

"This recognizes chemists that have made contributions world -wide, and these are important contributions to both the science and technology of chemistry," says Emile A. Schweikert, head of Texas A&M's Chemistry Department. "We are certainly very proud to have Dr. Barton and Dr. Cotton on this list."

Richard Smalley of Rice University is the only other Texas chemist recognized.

Barton's major contributions were listed as his studies of pyrolysis of chlorinated hydrocarbons, molecular rotation correlations, conformational analysis, phenolic radical coupling and biosynthesis, invention of radical reactions, and selective functionalization of saturated hydrocarbons.

Cotton was recognized for research in inorganic and protein chemistry, structural chemistry, chemical bonding, protein structure, spectroscopic studies of metal carbonyls and the dynamic structure of fluxational organometallic and metal carbonyl compounds. He originated the field of compounds containing single and multiple bonds between metal atoms.

Among major awards received by Barton, 79, are the 1969 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1995 ACS Priestley Medal and the 1995 Lavoisier Medal of the French Chemical Society. In 1959, he was the first recipient of the ACS Roger Adams Medal, and in 1971 he received the first Award in Natural Product Chemistry from the Chemical Society of London.

Major awards received by the 67-year-old Cotton include the 1982 National Medal of Science, 1990 National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences, 1994 Welch Award in Chemistry, and 1998 ACS Priestley Medal.

Members of the top 75 list will be honored during the ACS national meeting Aug. 23 in Boston.

Contact: Gene Charleton at 409-845-4644 or by e-mail at: e-charleton@tamu.edu.

Office of University Relations

Charleton Gene

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media