An historic shot of the monumental staircase at the west entrance of the Texas A&M University Chemistry Building. (Credit: Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University.)


In 1966, then-Texas A&M University President James Earl Rudder '32 charged Dr. Arthur E. Martell, newly appointed head of chemistry within the newly formed College of Science, to expand and enhance Department of Chemistry programs.

Texas A&M Chemistry has spent this past fall and spring reflecting on Martell's legacy and that of four subsequently pioneering professors -- including Dr. D. Wayne Goodman -- as part of a yearlong celebration commemorating 50 years of chemistry excellence that is set to conclude next week.

On May 8 and 9, Texas A&M Chemistry will host the D. Wayne Goodman Symposium on Physical and Analytical Chemistry in tribute to Goodman's many contributions to the field of chemistry and to the department. Just as relevant as career accomplishments, says event organizer Dr. David H. Russell, is the collegial manner in which Goodman contributed to the education and research experiences of students, postdoctoral researchers and fellow faculty as a member of the Texas A&M Chemistry faculty from 1988 until his untimely death in 2012 at the age of 66.

"Although the symposium focuses on research topics that broadly represent important areas of experimental physical chemistry, all the speakers are former Texas A&M students or individuals who have contributed to the growth and development of the Deparment of Chemistry, which is a hallmark of the Wayne Goodman legacy," said Russell, Applied Biosystems/MDS Sciex Professor of Mass Spectrometry in Chemistry and former department head (2006-2014).

The two-day symposium, to be held in the Stephen W. Hawking Auditorium within the George P. and Cynthia Woods Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy, will kick off Monday (May 8) at 3 p.m. with introductory remarks from Russell and presentations from Purdue University's Shelley A. Claridge and Stanford University's Richard N. Zare. Tuesday's (May 9) events, set to run from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. in Hawking Auditorium, will feature morning and afternoon sessions showcasing a combination of rising stars and senior scientists -- some that Goodman taught or was involved with as a thesis committee member. The symposium will conclude with a banquet at Christopher's World Grille.

"Wayne was internationally recognized a leader the field of surface science and catalysis," said Dr. Simon W. North, professor and head of Texas A&M Chemistry. "His studies were beautifully conceived and remarkably precise in addressing the molecular basis for chemical processes occurring at surfaces. With his passing, we lost a wonderful colleague and someone that I greatly admired."

Goodman received his Ph.D. from the University of Texas in 1974 and, after a NATO postdoctoral fellowship in Germany, was employed at the National Bureau of Standards outside of Washington, D.C. for four years. From 1980-88 he worked as a research scientist at Sandia National Laboratories, serving as head of the Surface Science Division for the last three of those years, prior to coming to Texas A&M in 1988 as a full professor in the Department of Chemistry. He was appointed as a distinguished professor of chemistry in 2000 and had held the Robert A. Welch Foundation Chair since 1998 after previously serving as a Welch Professor from 1994-1998. Goodman also served as co-director of the Center for Catalysis and Surface Chemistry.

During his nearly 25-year career at Texas A&M, he authored more than 500 publications and amassed a reputation as an internationally recognized physical chemist, an outstanding teacher and a distinguished researcher in the field of surface science and catalysis. His contributions to chemistry and surface science were recognized on national and international levels. A member of inaugural class of American Chemical Society (ACS) fellows (2009), he received a number of ACS awards, including the Ipatieff Award (1983), Colloid and Surface Science Award (1993), Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry (2002), Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis (2005) and Southwest Regional Science Award (2010).

Goodman's international awards include the British Vacuum Society's Yarwood Medal (1994), a Humboldt Research Award (1995), the Giuseppe Parravano Award (2001), a Fulbright Distinguished Scholar Award (2002), and appointment as a fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (2009).

For more information on the Goodman Symposium, contact Texas A&M Chemistry at (979) 845-9829 or via email at chemhead@chem.tamu.edu.

To see the complete list of previous 50 Years of Chemistry Excellence events, visit http://www.chem.tamu.edu/50years/.

# # # # # # # # # #

About Research at Texas A&M University: As one of the world's leading research institutions, Texas A&M is at the forefront in making significant contributions to scholarship and discovery, including that of science and technology. Research conducted at Texas A&M represented annual expenditures of more than $866.6 million in fiscal year 2015, ranking Texas A&M in the top 20 of the National Science Foundation's Higher Education Research and Development survey (2015). Texas A&M's research creates new knowledge that provides basic, fundamental and applied contributions resulting, in many cases, in economic benefits to the state, nation and world. To learn more, visit http://research.tamu.edu.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu or Dr. Simon W. North, (979) 845-4947 or north@chem.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Dr. D. Wayne Goodman

    (Credit: Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University.)

  • Goodman, during his Sandia National Laboratories days in the 1980s. (Credit: Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University.)

  • Goodman, in his Texas A&M office.

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media