Three College of Science staff members have been honored by Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students with the 2016-2017 President's Meritorious Service Award, Texas A&M's highest recognition for staff.

David Reed, senior microcomputer/LAN administrator in the Department of Biology; Tim St. Martin, web and information designer in the Department of Physics and Astronomy; and Sara Thigpin, senior administrative coordinator I in the College of Science Dean's Office are among the 25 individual staff members honored with Texas A&M's highest award for staff this year.

The trio was recognized Monday (Feb. 27) along with their fellow 2017 PMSA recipients at an awards ceremony and reception hosted by Texas A&M President Michael K. Young in the Memorial Student Center Bethancourt Ballrooom. The event served as the official kick-off to Staff Appreciation Week at Texas A&M, which runs through March 3. Each received a $1,000 cash award, a commemorative plaque and a lapel pin.

"The President's Meritorious Service Awards recognize and reward staff for their commendable service to our great university," Young said. "Recipients of this highly prestigious award have demonstrated their commitment to the Aggie core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect and selfless service. To each of them, I extend my most sincere congratulations and deep appreciation for their tremendous efforts that make Texas A&M such a great place to live and work."

Established in 1986, the President's Meritorious Service Awards are presented annually to recognize 25 outstanding staff employees, two outstanding teams and two outstanding supervisors for their meritorious service to the university. The program, which is sponsored by the Office of the President and The Association of Former Students, is coordinated by the Division of Human Resources and Organizational Effectiveness.

To see a complete list of winners or find additional information about the program, visit http://employees.tamu.edu/employee-recognition/pmsa/.

See an event recap from Texas A&M Marketing and Communications.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • David Reed

  • Tim St. Martin

  • Sara Thigpin

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media