Two Texas A&M University researchers will share a $5,000 award for a project that involves semiconductor manufacturing and environment, safety and health.

John Bevan, professor of chemistry, and Christopher Hartz, a post-doctoral fellow in the Chemistry Department, will share the award scheduled to be presented tonight (March 29) during the annual conference of the Semiconductor Safety Association in San Diego, Calif.

Their submission, "Surface Wave Plasma Technology for PFC Emission Reduction," describes ways to reduce perfluorocompound emissions much cheaper and more efficiently than previous methods.

Their technology is currently being developed by a Texas company and soon will be commercially available.

Judges noted that their research "makes a major contribution toward advancing the environmental goals of the semiconductor industry."

The award is sponsored jointly by the Semiconductor Safety Association, SEMATECH and the Semiconductor Research Corp. (SRC). SEMATECH is based in Austin and is a consortium of several companies, among them IBM, Motorola, Intel, Hewlett-Packard, Texas Instruments and others.

SRC is based in Research Park, N.C., and includes more than 60 companies and government agencies. Formed in 1982, it has invested and managed $340 million in semiconductor research at leading North American universities and research organizations.

Contact: Keith Randall at (409) 845-4644.

Office of University Relations
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-4641

Randall Keith

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media