Texas A&M University physical chemist D. Wayne Goodman has been named a fellow in the Institute of Physics.

Goodman was nominated by colleagues in the institute, an international organization for physicists. He serves on the editorial board for the Journal of Physics, one of the publications produced by the institute.

Goodman's work on surface science problems has made him a key figure in development of modern surface science. He has won numerous awards, including Texas A&M University's Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award for Research, an honorary doctorate of science from Mississippi College, the Yarwood Medal, The American Chemical Society's Ipatieff Prize and the Colloid and Surface Chemistry Award.

He was named a holder of the Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry in 1998.

After earning a bachelor's degree from Mississippi College and a Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin, Goodman joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1988 where he serves as a professor of chemistry. He has also been the director of the Texas A&M University Center for Catalysis and Surface Research Science since 1997.

Contact: Dr. D. Wayne Goodman (409) 845-0214.

Office of University Relations
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-4641


College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media