Texas A&M University professor Jane F. Schielack is the third Texas A&M mathematician selected to the Texas A&M System Chancellor's Academy of Teacher Educators since 2012.


Jane F. Schielack, professor of mathematics and associate dean for assessment and preK-12 education and assessment in the Texas A&M University College of Science, has been selected by The Texas A&M University System as a 2015-2016 member of the Chancellor's Academy of Teacher Educators honoring individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of teacher education across the Texas A&M System.

A member of the Texas A&M Department of Mathematics faculty since 1982, Schielack received both her bachelor of science (1975) and Ph.D. degrees (1988) in mathematics education from Texas A&M. She earned a master of arts in mathematics education from the University of Texas in 1980. She has served since 2006 as an associate dean and as a co-director of Texas A&M's Center for Mathematics and Science Education (CMSE). She also holds a joint professorial appointment in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture.

Schielack is the third Academy honoree from the College of Science since 2012, joining fellow mathematics professors Jennifer G. Whitfield (2013-2014) and Vincent P. Schielack (2012-2013) in the prestigious statewide group.

"Dr. Schielack's activities speak for themselves in terms of her dedication and commitment to teaching mathematics and improving mathematics education for K-12 students," said Dr. Meigan Aronson, dean of the Texas A&M College of Science. "She has made substantial contributions to mathematics education on the national, state and local levels, always striving for excellence with each area, project and student affected."

Schielack will be recognized at the 2016 Chancellor's Century Council Annual Banquet in the spring along with fellow inductees David Brown, Texas A&M University-Commerce; Anita Castaneda, Tarleton State University; Sara Lawrence, Texas A&M University-Texarkana; Amy Porter, Texas A&M University-San Antonio; Randall Williams, Texas A&M University-Kingsville; Frank Lucido, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi; Deborah Davis, Texas A&M University-Central Texas; Sumalai Maroonroge, Texas A&M International University; and Elsa Diego-Medrano, West Texas A&M University.

Members of the elite educator group receive a $1,000 stipend, a certificate and a commemorative medallion bearing the A&M System seal. Academy members also serve on the selection committee for future inductee classes and are invited to present at the Chancellor's Summit of Teacher Education.

The Academy was established in 2011 to highlight the Texas A&M System's role in producing K-12 teachers for the state of Texas. Nominees must be full-time faculty members from any A&M System university who have made a significant impact on teacher preparation.

A 39-year veteran educator with degrees from the state's two flagship universities, Schielack has proven experience in all the right places, including stints as a teacher in an elementary school classroom and as an administrator with the Texas Education Agency (TEA). In addition to co-authoring the State of Texas' first official standards for mathematics education in 1979, she was instrumental in delivering in-service workshops and as a member of state accreditation teams. Her other experiences include designing the online Mathematics TEKS Framework for supporting implementation of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills in K-12 mathematics.

As a Texas A&M faculty member, she's taught a variety of courses, most notably mathematics for elementary education majors, and conducted vast independent and interdisciplinary research, including six years' worth as director and co-principal investigator for Texas A&M's $10 million National Science Foundation-funded Information Technology in Science (ITS) Center for Teaching and Learning. Her current work focuses on pre-service and in-service teachers -- specifically, mathematics content courses for interdisciplinary studies majors who are seeking elementary or middle-grades mathematics and science teaching certification.

CMSE co-director Timothy P. Scott notes that Schielack has the rare expertise and ability required to function in two important realms, mathematics and pedagogy. This unique combination has placed her in high demand for high-ranking committees, task forces and councils charged with discovering or developing the next big thing in mathematics education. Among her many career accomplishments, Schielack led the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) writing team that developed focal points in 2006 designed to guide curricula to better prepare U.S. elementary and middle school students for high school and eventual careers in science and education. In addition, she routinely consults with higher education groups and legislative bodies in states and school districts across the nation, assisting them in authoring, implementing and evaluating K-12 mathematics curricula and related assessment criteria.

"Dr. Schielack has demonstrated exceptional creativity, enthusiasm and a passion for teaching at both the undergraduate and graduate levels," Scott said. "She's an expert at conveying the difference between 'doing' mathematics and 'teaching' mathematics who feels most successful when she knows she's helped to instill that deeper understanding of mathematics. In particular, she has remained dedicated to improving pre-service and in-service teachers' understanding of the mathematical knowledge needed for teaching and helping them experience what she describes as a 'mathematical thrill' -- what teachers achieve if they learn how to master difficult content and problem-solve on their own."

On other national fronts, Schielack was an author of Scott Foresman-Addison Wesley's Mathematics, enVisionMATH and enVisionMATH Common Core. Currently she is an author of digits and enVisionMATH Common Core, Realize Edition, both published by Pearson.

Click here to learn more about Schielack and her teaching, research and professional service accomplishments.

For additional information on the Chancellor's Century Council, go to http://ccc.tamus.org/.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu or Jane F. Schielack, (979) 458-0549 or janie@science.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Dr. Jane F. Schielack

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media