Texas A&M University Distinguished Professor of Chemistry A. Ian Scott received the 2000 Welch Foundation Award in Chemistry at a luncheon Wednesday at the Clayton W. Williams, Jr., Alumni Center at Texas A&M.

Scott, the Davidson Professor of Science and director of the Center for Biological NMR at Texas A&M, was honored by the Welch Foundation for his lifetime achievements in bioorganic chemistry and biosynthesis.

Scott shares the $300,000 prize with the University of Cambridge's Sir Alan Battersby, with whom he decoded the manufacturing pathway of vitamin B12, one of nature's most complex molecules.

Scott came to Texas A&M University in 1977 after holding chairs in organic chemistry at the University of British Columbia at Vancouver, the University of Sussex and Yale University. The American Chemical Society and the Royal Society of Chemistry have honored him for his research and he has received two honorary degrees from the Universities of Paris and Coimbra.

Scott is a fellow of the Royal Society, the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a member of the Scientific Academy of Siena and the European Academy of Arts and Sciences and Humanities, as well as a founding member of the Yale Sherlock Holmes Society.

The Welch Award in Chemistry is given annually by the Welch Foundation for outstanding contributions to basic chemical research for the betterment of humankind.

Scott is the second Texas A&M researcher to receive the Welch Award. F. Albert Cotton, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and director of the Laboratory for Molecular Structure and Bonding at Texas A&M, received the prize in 1994.

The Welch Foundation is one of the nation's oldest and largest private supporters of basic chemical research in Texas, funding research at 27 Texas institutions. Since its founding in 1954, the foundation has provided over $411 million for scientific research.

Contact: Leslie Kriewald, University Relations.

Office of University Relations
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-4641

Kriewald Leslie

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media