The prestigious F. A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research will be awarded Wednesday (March 15) to Northwestern University chemistry professor Tobin J. Marks for his contributions to inorganic and catalytic chemistry.

The award will be presented at 6 p.m. in 301 Reed Arena at the closing banquet of the Contemporary Inorganic Chemistry II (CIC II) symposium, which began on Sunday (March 12) and has drawn more than 300 chemists from 24 countries to the Texas A&M University campus.

In addition to the F. A. Cotton medal, which is minted in gold and is 2.5 inches in diameter, Marks will receive an initial endowment of more than $100,000 and a certificate describing the award.

The seven-person award jury said Marks "has been a leader and indeed a pioneer in several diverse and important areas of inorganic and organomettalic chemistry.

"He is the second most-cited inorganic chemist in the world," they added, "surpassed only by the namesake of this award."

The medal, which recognizes research accomplishments, was established in 1994 by the Texas A&M section of the American Chemical Society and the Chemistry Department of Texas A&M. It was first awarded in 1995 to Texas A&M Distinguished Professor F. Albert Cotton, for whom the medal was named.

Another award, the Wilkinson Prize for Creativity in Inorganic Chemistry, was presented to Herbert W. Roesky of the Georg-August-Universitat Göttingen (Göttingen, Germany) at a reception on Monday (March 13) at the Bush Presidential Library and Museum. More than 750 publications, articles, patents and books document Roesky's research in the areas of inorganic chemistry and materials science.

Contact: Sameh Fahmy, University Relations.

Office of University Relations
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-4641

Fahmy Sameh

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media