The American Chemical Society (ACS) is honoring Texas A&M University Distinguished Professors of Chemistry Al Cotton and John Fackler with two of its most prestigious awards, the ACS announced in the Sept. 11 issue of Chemical & Engineering News.

Cotton, widely considered the world's pre-eminent inorganic chemist, is the recipient of the 2001 American Chemical Society (ACS) Award in Organometallic Chemistry. The ACS gives the award, sponsored by the Dow Chemical Company, annually in recognition of advancements having a major impact on the field of organometallic chemistry.

Fackler is the recipient of the ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry. The ACS gives the award, sponsored by Strem Chemicals, annually to recognize those who have advanced inorganic chemistry by significant service and research. Fackler is the fourth Texas A&M chemist to receive the award. Previous winners include Cotton, Arthur E. Martell and Marcetta Y. Darensbourg.

Cotton has made an indelible mark on inorganic and organometallic chemistry, and chemistry as a whole, through his work. His extensive research in metallic chemistry, where he discovered the phenomena of double, triple and quadruple metal-metal bonding, is a significant contribution to chemistry and has impacted biochemistry, chemical engineering, physics and molecular biology, as well.

Cotton came to Texas A&M in 1972 as the Robert A. Welch Professor. He was later named the W. T. Doherty-Welch Foundation Professor and currently serves as director of the Laboratory for Molecular Structure and Bonding at Texas A&M. Cotton, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, has won numerous awards for his work, including the National Medal of Science in 1982 and the Welch Foundation Prize in 1994. In 1998, Cotton was awarded the Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society's highest award, and the Gold Medal of the American Institute of Chemists. In 2000, Cotton received the Wolf Prize in chemistry and also will receive the Lavoisier Award, the highest honor of the French Chemical Society, on Sept.18 in Paris. Cotton holds 24 honorary degrees from 10 countries.

Fackler's research interests are in transition-metal inorganic chemistry, including gold organometallic chemistry, beta-diketonates, metal-sulfur chemistry and the Jahn-Teller properties of metal complexes. He has been actively involved in inorganic chemistry educational outreach throughout his career, aiming to strengthen understanding of inorganic chemistry and emphasizing chemical applications of group theory, syntheses, structure and spectroscopy. He was department head at Case Western Reserve University, 1972-1977, held Fulbright and J. S. Guggenheim Fellowships and served on the Gordon Research Conferences Board of Trustees which he chaired in 1988-89.

Fackler, who studied under Cotton at MIT, came to Texas A&M as the dean of the College of Science in 1983 and professor of chemistry. He served as dean until 1992, when he returned full-time to the faculty of the chemistry department. Fackler has received several ACS awards, including the Southwest Regional Award and the Morley Medal. He holds an honorary degree from Valparaiso University and was the 1992 W. Manchot Research Professor at the Technical University of Munich (Germany).

Cotton and Fackler will each receive $5,000 and a certificate and up to $1,000 to travel to the 2001 ACS meeting in San Diego at which they will receive their awards.

The ACS is a nonprofit, scientific and educational organization committed to fostering chemical education and research. Chartered by Congress, the ACS is one of the largest scientific societies in the world with an international membership of more than 160,000 chemists and chemical engineers.

Office of University Relations
Texas A&M University
(979) 845-4641

Kriewald Leslie

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media