Dr. M. Suhail Zubairy


Dr. M. Suhail Zubairy, professor of physics and astronomy and inaugural holder of the Munnerlyn-Heep Chair in Quantum Optics at Texas A&M University, has been appointed as a University Distinguished Professor, effective Sept. 1, 2014.

Zubairy, a member of Texas A&M's world-class Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering (IQSE) who is widely considered to be among the top of his field in quantum optics, quantum communication and quantum computing, earns recognition along with six fellow Texas A&M faculty as the latest recipients of the coveted title: Dr. Gianfranco D. Alpini, professor of medicine, Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine; Dr. Robert S. Chapkin, regents professor of nutrition and food science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Dr. Joe R. Feagin, professor of sociology, College of Liberal Arts; Dr. P. R. Kumar, professor, Department Electrical and Computer Engineering, Dwight Look College of Engineering; Dr. Jeffrey W. Savell, regents professor of animal science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; and Dr. Renyi Zhang, professor of atmospheric sciences, College of Geosciences, and a joint professor of chemistry, College of Science.

The 2014 university distinguished professor honorees join a select group of more than 70 current faculty members that hold the prestigious title -- nearly half of whom (34) are affiliated with the College of Science. The title, which is bestowed in perpetuity, denotes a faculty member who is pre-eminent in his or her field, has made at least one seminal contribution to the discipline, and whose work is central in any narrative of the field and is widely recognized to have changed the direction of scholarship in the field.

"University Distinguished Professors represent the highest level of achievement for our faculty," said Dr. Karan L. Watson, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. "They are recognized as pre-eminent authorities in their fields, and their accomplishments are exemplified by outstanding teaching, mentoring, discovery and service. They demonstrate to the world the high quality of scholarship under way at Texas A&M University."

The group will be honored at an April 30 reception hosted by Texas A&M Interim President Mark Hussey and the Texas A&M Foundation to celebrate all faculty who are distinguished professors.

Zubairy, who joined Texas A&M Department of Physics and Astronomy faculty in 2002, received his Ph.D. from the University of Rochester in 1978. His research focuses on quantum optics and laser physics, with seminal contributions in quantum coherence, quantum informatics, and optical microscopy and lithography that are considered transformational. Zubairy is well known for his pioneering work ranging from noise-free amplification to super Rayleigh resolution. He has published more than 300 research papers and two books. His work has been cited more than 10,000 times, with more than 3,200 citations alone for the textbook Quantum Optics, co-authored with fellow Texas A&M quantum physicist Marlan Scully.

Zubairy's impact on the field of quantum optics has been recognized with many international awards, including the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics, the Humboldt Research Prize for Distinguished Scientists in Germany, the George H. W. Bush Excellence Award for Faculty in International Research, two medals from the President of Pakistan, the Khwarizmi Prize from the President of Iran, the Outstanding Physicist Award from the Organization of Islamic Countries and the Abdus Salam Prize for Physics. He is also an elected member of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America.

To learn more about Zubairy and his teaching, research and professional service accomplishments, visit http://people.tamu.edu/zubairy/.

To read a recent feature about his research into photonless communication, go to http://www.science.tamu.edu/articles/1054/.

For a complete list of distinguished professors at Texas A&M, visit http://dof.tamu.edu/node/569.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu or Dr. M. Suhail Zubairy, (979) 324-1780 or zubairy@physics.tamu.edu

Sawtelle Nancy

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media