Dr. Harold P. Boas, professor of mathematics at Texas A&M University, has been selected to receive the 2013 Texas Section Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics from the Mathematical Association of America (MAA).

Boas was presented with the prestigious award during the section's 93rd Annual Meeting, held April 11-13 at Texas Tech University. As the selection from Texas, Boas will serve as the official section candidate for the national-level MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics, which are announced in January.

"Professor Boas' contributions to the teaching mission of Texas A&M University and to "teaching" in a broad sense are profound," said Dr. Emil J. Straube, professor and head of the Department of Mathematics. "He is a gifted lecturer and expositor who imparts not only knowledge, but also invaluable insights to his students. His contributions outside the lecture hall are equally impressive, be it through expository writing, curriculum development, mentoring or service to educational causes. Harold Boas is highly deserving of this award for Distinguished University Teaching, and we are fortunate to have him on our faculty."

Boas has been a member of the faculty in the Texas A&M Department of Mathematics since 1984 and is known for his innovative approach to teaching and his lasting influence on students. He was named an inaugural fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) in 2012 and is the recipient of numerous awards and honors for teaching and scholarship, including the 2012 Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence Award -- a perpetual title and Texas A&M's highest recognition for classroom prowess -- and the first Outstanding Teaching Award from the Department of Mathematics in 1994. In addition, he is a recipient of the Texas A&M Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching at both the college- and university-levels (2009 and 2010, respectively).

Nominations for the Distinguished Teaching awards may be made by anyone but particularly are encouraged from chairs in departments of mathematical sciences. Nominees must be college or university teachers assigned at least half-time during the academic year to teaching a mathematical science in a public or private college or university in the United States or Canada. In addition, they must have at least five years teaching experience in a mathematical science and be MAA members.

To learn more about Boas and his teaching, research and service efforts, go to http://www.math.tamu.edu/~harold.boas/.

For more information on the Texas Section of the Mathematical Association of America, visit http://sections.maa.org/texas/index.html.


Contact: Shana K. Hutchins, (979) 862-1237 or shutchins@science.tamu.edu

Hutchins Shana

  • Dr. Harold P. Boas

© Texas A&M University. To request use of any of our photographs for educational use or to view additional options from our archive, please contact the College of Science Communications Office.

College of Science
517 Blocker
TAMU 3257 | 979-845-7361
Site Policies
Contact Webmaster
Social Media